The History of Arsenal Football Club in summary

History of Arsenal F.C. (1886–1966) The club were founded in 1886 as a workers' team from Woolwich and joined the Football League in 1893. The team moved to Arsenal Stadium, Highbury in 1913 and had their first period of success under Herbert Chapman and George Allison in the 1930s, followed by that of Tom Whittaker in the 1940s and early 1950s. However after Whittaker's death the club gradually descended and were in mid-table obscurity by the mid-1960s.

History of Arsenal F.C. (1966–present) Bertie Mee was appointed manager in 1966, and guided the club to a Fairs Cup win in 1970 and the Double after that. Arsenal won another FA Cup in 1979 under Terry Neill, and then under George Graham won two more League titles, a Cup Double and the Cup Winners' Cup. Under current manager Arsène Wenger, Arsenal have won two more Doubles and the league unbeaten, and reached the UEFA Champions League final for the first time in their history, as well as moving to the new Emirates Stadium in 2006.

Make a Free Website with Yola.